MINUTES OF A MEETING OF SURREY HEATH BOROUGH COUNCIL held at Surrey Heath House, Camberley on 28 June 2023

+ Cllr Pat Tedder (Mayor) + Cllr Sarbie Kang (Deputy Mayor)

- + Cllr Alan Ashbery+ Cllr Louise Ashbery
- + Cllr Cliff Betton
- + Cllr Jonny Cope
- + Cllr Kel Finan-Cooke
- + Cllr Lisa Finan-Cooke
- + Cllr Shaun Garrett
- + Cllr Mary Glauert
- + Cllr Mark Gordon
- * Cllr Julie Hoad
- + Cllr Nirmal Kang
- + Cllr Rob Lee
- + Cllr Shaun Macdonald
- + Cllr Leanne MacIntyre
- + Cllr Emma-Jane McGrath
- + Cllr Lewis Mears
- + Cllr Sashi Mylvaganam

- + Cllr Liz Noble
- + Cllr Jacques Olmo
- + Cllr David O'Mahoney
- + Cllr Ying Perrett
- * Cllr Jonathan Quin
- + Cllr Bob Raikes
- + Cllr Morgan Rise
- + Cllr Murray Rowlands
- + Cllr John Skipper
- + Cllr Josh Thorne
- + Cllr Kevin Thompson
- + Cllr Victoria Wheeler
- Cllr David Whitcroft
- + Cllr Helen Whitcroft
- + Cllr Valerie White
- Cllr Richard Wilson

+ Present

- Apologies for absence presented
- * In attendance virtually but did not vote

15/C Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors David Whitcroft and Richard Wilson. It was noted that Councillors Julie Hoad and Jonathan Quin had joined the meeting virtually but would not be entitled to vote.

16/C Report of the Returning Officer

The Council received the report of the Returning Officer formally notifying the election of councillors for the Frimley Green ward. This poll had been held on 15 June 2023 due to the original election scheduled for 4 May 2023 being countermanded following the death of a candidate.

17/C Leader and Executive Arrangements

The Council was informed that Councillor David Whitcroft had resigned as Leader of the Council.

It was moved by Councillor Kevin Thompson and seconded by Councillor Cliff Betton that Councillor Shaun Macdonald be appointed Leader of the Council. There being no further nominations, it was unanimously

RESOLVED that Councillor Shaun Macdonald be elected Leader of the Council for the remainder of the term of office.

Councillor Shaun Macdonald made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Leader of the Council.

The Leader informed the Council that Councillor Morgan Rise would be the Deputy Leader and the following councillors would be Portfolio Holders with the areas of responsibility as set out below:

Portfolio Area Portfolio Holder **Economic & Income Development** Cllr Kel Finan-Cooke Leisure & Culture Cllr John Skipper Inclusion & Housing Cllr Lisa Finan-Cooke Net Zero, Well-being & Environment Cllr Morgan Rise Performance & Finance Cllr Leanne MacIntyre Resident & Community Services Cllr Helen Whitcroft Sustainable Transport & Planning Cllr Alan Ashbery

A revised schedule of allocations of areas of responsibility to portfolios had been circulated as a supplement to the agenda.

The Leader reported that all decisions would be taken collectively by the Executive. He had not reserved any decisions to the office of the Council Leader and no individual decision making powers had been delegated to Portfolio Holders. The Scheme of Delegation of Functions to Officers in respect of executive functions would remain as set out at Part 3 of the Council's Constitution.

18/C Review of Political Proportionality and Membership of Committees

The Council was required by law to allocate seats in proportion to the political composition of the Council, with the aggregate membership of all the committees also being proportionate. The Council received a report setting out a revised scheme of proportionality following the rescheduled Frimley Green election on 15 June 2023.

The revised memberships of the standing committee and other bodies of the Council, as nominated by the Group Leaders, were also noted.

It was moved by the Mayor, seconded by the Deputy Mayor and

RESOLVED that

- (i) the revised the scheme of proportionality as set out at Annex A to the agenda report, be adopted for the remainder 2023/24; and
- (ii) the membership of the standing committees and other bodies of the Council for the remainder 2023/24 be as follows:

<u>Planning Applications Committee</u> (15 members and 8 substitute members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Cliff Betton, Shaun Garrett, Mary Glauert, Nirmal Kang, Liz Noble, David O'Mahoney, Ying Perrett, Murray Rowlands, John Skipper, Kevin Thompson, Victoria Wheeler, Valerie White, David Whitcroft, Helen Whitcroft, Richard Wilson.

Substitutes:

Councillors Louise Ashbery, Jonny Cope, Lisa Finan-Cooke, Mark Gordon, Rob Lee, Shaun Macdonald, Pat Tedder, Jonathan Quin.

Licensing Committee (13 members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Alan Ashbery, Kel Finan-Cooke, Mark Gordon, Julie Hoad, Nirmal Kang, Rob Lee, Jacques Olmo, Ying Perrett, Jonathan Quin, Bob Raikes, Pat Tedder, Kevin Thompson, Valerie White.

<u>Performance & Finance Scrutiny Committee</u> (13 members and 7 substitute members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Louise Ashbery, Shaun Garrett, Nirmal Kang, Lewis Mears, Sashi Mylvaganam, Liz Noble, Jacques Olmo, David O'Mahoney, Jonathan Quin, Bob Raikes, Victoria Wheeler, David Whitcroft, Richard Wilson.

Substitutes:

Councillors Mary Glauert, Sarbie Kang, Rob Lee, Murray Rowlands, Pat Tedder, Josh Thorne, Valerie White.

External Partnerships Select Committee (13 members and 7 substitute members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Louise Ashbery, Jonny Cope, Mary Glauert, Julie Hoad, Sarbie Kang, Rob Lee, Lewis Mears, Emma-Jane McGrath, Liz Noble, Jacques Olmo, Murray Rowlands, Kevin Thompson, Richard Wilson.

Substitutes:

Councillors Mark Gordon, David O'Mahoney, Ying Perrett, Jonathan Quin, Bob Raikes, Pat Tedder, Valerie White.

Audit & Standards Committee (7 members and 5 substitute members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Cliff Betton, Jonny Cope, Rob Lee, Leanne MacIntyre, Bob Raikes, Pat Tedder, Josh Thorne.

Substitutes:

Councillors Shaun Garrett, Kevin Thompson, Victoria Wheeler, David Whitcroft, Valerie White.

Employment Committee (9 members and 6 substitute members)

Committee Members:

Councillors Alan Ashbery, Lisa Finan-Cooke, Mark Gordon, Shaun Macdonald, Sashi Mylvaganam, Leanne MacIntyre, Josh Thorne, Victoria Wheeler, David Whitcroft.

Substitutes:

Councillors Shaun Garrett, Mary Glauert, Lewis Mears, Pat Tedder, Helen Whitcroft, Richard Wilson.

Governance Working Group (5 members and 5 substitute members)

Working Group Members:

Councillors Cliff Betton, Mary Glauert, Shaun Garrett, Nirmal Kang, Jonathan Quin, Morgan Rise, Victoria Wheeler, Richard Wilson.

Substitutes:

Councillors Sashi Mylvaganam, Liz Noble, Murray Rowlands, Pat Tedder, Valerie White.

<u>Joint Staff Consultative Group</u> (8 members)

Consultative Group Members:

Councillors Alan Ashbery, Lisa Finan-Cooke, Mary Glauert, Mark Gordon, Ying Perrett, Murray Rowlands, Pat Tedder, Valerie White.

Mayor